Reviews

Reviews

Some of the comments our guests have made

We are extremely proud to say that since starting our business in 2013, we have received nothing less than 5-star reviews and would like to thank each and every one of our guests for rating La Vrilletterie so highly.

We like to think that this reflects the continuing high standards that we set ourselves year-on-year and with the number of repeat bookings we receive.

Most of all, we are absolutely delighted with the many friends we have gained through our business along the way. Long may it continue!

Here we show just a selection of the reviews we’ve received.

 

My family and I spent a week here this summer,2019. The experience certainly went beyond expectations of the dreamy French hideaway we had read about in the reviews.
Past the grand entrance to La Vrilletterie lies a hidden gem in the beautiful Loire Valley,serene and picturesque with acres of space for our children to enjoy.
Our seven year old daughter fell in love with the resident ponies Etoile and Jasmine,being able to be a helping hand on the mini farm the children were entertained no end. Collecting the fresh chicken eggs,ride on tractors,the ponies,amongst a huge amount of spread out areas for them to be free and play safely. A big thank you to Stephen for indulging our five year old son’s passion for tractors and John Deere,you made his week very special.
The pool area is as stunning as it appears in the photos,a large pool surrounded by beautifully cultivated gardens,full of lovely flowers. We spent most afternoons relaxing and soaking up the lovely sunshine by the pool,a heavenly spot.
Diana has put a lot of love and attention to detail into the Gite,beautifully decorated from head to toe in traditional French decor,with fabulous pictures,sumptuous fabrics and a lovely authentic style in keeping with the quaint French character of the gite. We fully appreciated all the lovely little touches throughout the Gite,nothing was forgotten,especially in the kitchen where it was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need.
We ventured out most mornings as there is so many lovely things to experience locally. Chateau Rivau, and Canoeing underneath the Chateau de Chenonceaux being two of our very favourite excursions of the week,which come highly recommended.
Diana and Stephen are wonderful hosts,they are some of the nicest people we’ve met and they made us all feel so very welcome. Thank you for making our summer holiday so special.
Diana we miss your delicious lemon drizzle cake also😋 See you very soon Xxx
Sarah-Louise Clark – Shropshire – August 2019

Couldn’t recommend more!

Everything is done to such a high standard, it really is. We were in the Rose room and loved opening the shutters in the morning! The views are breathtaking, especially from our children’s Gable room! Swimming in a pool surrounded by the scent of gorgeous roses is hard to match. x

Francesca Marshall – Nottingham – August 2019


We arrived home on Saturday after spending a fantastic week at La Vrilletterie with family and friends. We had so much fun exploring the region, fields of sunflowers, wine tasting, kayaking, the local market, a visit to the dungeon, a trip to Lac de saint Cyr where the kids enjoyed the huge inflatable. Stephen and Diana were fabulous hosts, Stephen accompanied us to the supermarket and wine tour and Diana arranged the activities and booked the recommended nearby seafood restaurant. The farmhouse gite is so spacious and beautifully presented, the pretty gardens and outdoor heated pool was well used by our children and they also enjoyed feeding the horses, chickens and not forgetting Muffin. An enjoyable and action packed week making wonderful memories.

Sam Gollick – Margate – August 2019

We have just spent the most wonderful two weeks at the utterly beautiful La Vrilletterie.  A perfect gîte for relaxing in the peaceful rolling countryside. Close to all the Loire attractions, chateaux, zoos, gardens, museums, lovely old towns etc.  We have been here during the Sahara Plume, and boy has it been hot.  Much time has been lazing around the pretty pool and reading books.  The gîte has everything you could possibly want and more. Such a lot of effort has gone in making sure your stay is perfect.  Stephen and Diana are the most wonderful hosts.  They go the extra mile to arrange from Dr’s visits to restaurant bookings etc.  Nothing is too much trouble.  They will be as discreet or as attentive as you wish.  The rooms are very comfortable, all have en-suite which is great. Nice big beds with white cotton linen.  Patio area for alfresco dining, ponies and chickens to feed scraps to.  Lots of garden, stunning flowers everywhere, trees to keep cool under, and all enclosed for safe children play.

Diana cooked for us twice, a bbq and an alfresco meal on our patio, just before we left.  Wow, is the word. Absolutely delicious!  Beautifully presented and totally amazing. Definitely a Michelin Star.

Thank you both so much.  As someone has already said, we arrived as guests and will leave as friends.  Hope to be back soon. Sue, Jamie, Martin, Christine.

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Sue and Jamie Clark – Kent – June 2019


10 / 10

A brilliant location just as described. The property is well situated in a rural setting with lovely long views and easy motorway access. Lots to do around the area Chateaux to visit the host will take you to a wine Cave for a tasting and can provide lots of area info. Big towns, Richelieu, Chinon, Tours, all with easy access.  Supermarkets nearby, 15 mins by car and we had two cyclists with us who loved the quiet roads and the ability to meet the rest of the group for real French lunches (12.50 Euros for 3 courses including 25cls of wine).  Hosts were most helpful and we had a pizza night on our last night which was superb. Meals are also available cooked by the hosts.

Great place, great area, great location, great hosts.
Book it Danno!

G&J – Jersey – April 2019


Magnifique gîte très bien équipé (y compris pour cusiner pour des grands groupes), hôtes aux petits soins (délicieux gâteau préparé pour notre arrivée, appareil à raclette, verre partagé pour faire connaissance…), cést léndroit parfait pour passer quelques jours au vert en famille ou entre amis dans un cadre très agréable.  Beaucoup de sites touristiques proches (Chinon Azay-le-rideau, etc…).

Merci encore Diana & Stephen pour l’áccueil, nous essayersons de revenir en été!

Claire-Marie – Paris – January 2019


Je recommande vraiment ce lieu aux groups d’amis, tout comme aux familles.  Cést la seconde fois que je passe un long weekend de 4 jours à La Vrilletterie avec un grand groupe dámis Parisiens (10 personnes).  Nousavons pu faire la fête, danser et chanter (grand séjour avec cheminée), jouer au ping-pong ( grande salle de jeu), se cuisine des bons plats et des gateaux (grande cuisine équipée), se balader dans les champs d’á côté (la ferme n’a pas de voisinage direct et le lieu est magnifique, notamment les chateaux de la région) et se reposer (super decoration, chambres et literie très confortables).  Bref, tout y est pour se sentir comme dans la maison de campagne de nos rêves.  Stephen et Diana son vraiment adorables et discrets.  Diana nous a fait un gateau délicieux et Stephen nous apportait du bois pour la cheminée et des œufs frais de sa ferme chaque matin.  La Vrilletterie est a 3h10 de Paris, donc vraiment accessible pour un weekend, cést un vrai petit bout de paradis.  On reviendra encore, cést certain.

Alexis – Paris – December 2018


 

¶¶¶¶¶

Am just back from a week at La Vrilletterie with three friends I have known since we were in school together. We were in the Loire Valley to explore the chateaux and the beauty and to have time together to relax and reconnect.  La Vrilletterie was the perfect place to stay!  The gite itself is spacious, charming, luxurious and immaculately clean. With four gorgeously appointed bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, we felt like four queens! One of the bedrooms is on the first floor so if your party includes an older person(s), or someone with mobility issues, this place will work for you.  The kitchen is nicely set up, with all you need to cook lovely meals, and there is a cozy living room with couches you can sink into for days.

Outside is fantastic.  The courtyard is beautiful.  There is a lovely covered spot to eat outside the kitchen and another with a beautiful view near the pool.  The latter has lights for eating at night.  The pool is large enough for swimming laps and it is, like the house, very clean. It is heated, so that is really nice.  There are TWO hammocks!  Stephen and Diana also have a large number of bicycles of all sizes for use by guests as well.

Diana showed us the two extra bedrooms on the other side of the courtyard, so if you have need for two more, they are right there and, like the gite itself, furnished with grace, style and charm.  Diana clearly has a decorator’s eye–utterly delightful rooms.

On the property are two miniature ponies (kid friendly and great lawnmower surrogates) and an adorable dog named Muffin.  There are chickens who are eager for your meal scraps and provide the best eggs I have ever tasted.

La Vrilletterie is in the country, so it is a fantastic place to get away from it all. Amenities are not far away and the Loire sights are a bit of a distance, but with all of the countryside being so enchanting, driving to them is itself part of the charm.

Finally, Stephen and Diana are perfect hosts.  They are warm, helpful, funny, kind and considerate.  We liked them so much we invited them to spend an evening with us.  That said, they do not ever impose and if you want to have complete privacy, you will find it.

We give La Vrilletterie and Diana and Stephen 5 stars!!!

Marion Dry – U.S.A. – September 2018


10/10

We cannot recommend this property highly enough. Simply everything a family of four adults and two young children could want for. The setting is beautiful and tranquil, allowing for both fun and relaxation. Our hosts were welcoming, attentive and delightful – nothing was too much trouble. Diana’s dinner was an evening to remember with delicious food and stunning atmosphere. Likewise the pizza evening was another holidays highlight.

We were only sorry we couldn’t stay longer.

Pennysd – W. Sussex – August 2018


10/10

A truly lovely gite in a tranquil setting with far reaching views over beautiful countryside yet close to many cultural places of interest. Chosen because of the many superb reviews by previous visitors and it more than lived up to expectations. Stephen and Diana are the perfect hosts who made us feel very welcome. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer.

Jonathan & Andrea Michelmore – Kent – July 2018


Perfect Family Retreat

This is a beautiful house with lots of room for a family to roam. (And the house is perfect for Hide and Seek.) Stephen and Diana make everyone feel welcome and don’t mind kids (our grandkids 10, 10 and 14) running around and making noise. The kids spent lots of time in the pool after a day of sightseeing. One night, Stephen and Diana helped us make pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven. It was a big hit with all of us. They also prepared a lovely anniversary dinner served in their formal dining room.

California – July 2018


Amazing Family Holiday

We stayed at La Vrilletterie for a week in June and had the best time. Stephen and Diana our hosts had literally thought of everything from home made cakes, jams and chutneys to fresh veg from the garden, LOADS of games for kids and adults and an option to visit a great local vineyard to boot!

It’s a fab location for either flying or driving, with plenty of trips to do, wine tasting to indulge in, or simply hanging out at the pool. We stayed with 7 adults and 4 children and there was loads of space with really good quality and tastefully decorated rooms – we’ll be back!

Laura B – London – June 2018


La belle propriété de Diana et Stephen ornée de roses odorantes vous enchantera pour un we de repos autour de la piscine et dans les multiples et agréables lieux du jardin. Vous pourrez aussi visiter différents châteaux et abbayes. Vos hôtes sauront répondre à vos attentes avec grande disponibilité et gentillesse.

Domitille – May 2018


Superb for a family or group holiday

This is a superbly refurbished gite looking traditional but with a wonderful modern feel as well. Great accommodation with four double rooms plus, and four bathrooms. Two kitchens, games room, sitting room, kitchen and covered patio with BBQ gives you space and excellent facilities. A heated swimming pool and pizza oven were also well used, while the children regularly fed the chickens and visited the ponies. Hosts Diana and Stephen were incredibly welcoming and hospitable and I can honestly say this was one of our very best family holidays.

The area is absolutely beautiful and close to some magnificent castles / chateau and town well worth a visit.

Stuart H – Salisbury – May 2018


Myself and my family really love it here. It’s beautiful here and u feel so at home here. Diane and Stephen are the most amazing people and are on hand to help with anything you may need. words just don’t do it justice x
We love this place so much we and going back this year for the second time  :) can’t wait  :)

Carrie-ann Rowe – Dorset – January 2018


Nous avons passé 4 jours exceptionnelles dans cette magnifique maison. Merci pour l’accueil, le logement, et toutes les petites attention. Nous étions un groupe de 9 jeunes parisiens voulant se ressourcer et c’était plus que parfait. Les chambres sont tellement confortables, grandes et splendides! Bref, parfait!  MERCI.

Héloïse – Paris – January 2018


¶¶¶¶¶

Best of the best!

This 4 bed gîte has everything and most of all its owners are wonderful hosts who cannot do enough for you. The 4 bedrooms are large, with comfortable beds, lovely en suites and there are 2 more rooms across the courtyard should you have a large group. Importantly the accommodation is flexible, with king and single beds to suit. There are 2 kitchens, 4 eating areas, 2 BBQs and a pizza oven! Children and babies catered for in every respect.

The pool is beautiful, as is the surrounding patio, and the pool is warm. The grounds are large and provide shade if needed. The chickens, the miniature horses and the dog (Muffin) provide much amusement.

Diana’s lemon drizzle cake is unsurpassed and the optional evening meals, on request, with wine are perfection.

We were there for 3 weeks with family coming and going, including 2 youngsters and a baby. EVERYBODY was thrilled with La Vrilletterie.

Nearby are the chateaux of the Loire and great towns like Chinon and Loches. We have been to the Loire before, but never had such a great time.

R Townsend – Sherborne


¶¶¶¶¶

A wonderful rural retreat

We stayed at La Vrilletterie for 3 weeks with various friends, using all the space in the gîte. Although this was right at the very end of their season, Diana and Stephen were tireless in their concern for our comfort and well-being. We were taken on wine-tasting visits, helped with the pizza-baking, and provided with all sorts of produce from the garden by Steve. Diana welcomed us with her delicious home-made cakes and wonderfully comfy beds. Nothing was too much trouble. We miss it!

Mary Harrison – Manchester


¶¶¶¶¶

Just come back from a fantastic 2 weeks at this beautiful gîte!  As always Diana and Stephen were the perfect hosts. Had lots of plans to explore this time but with everything we needed at the gîte, we didn’t venture far. Can’t wait to come back again.
Thanks again Diana and Stephen we miss you guys already.

S Wood – Hampshire


¶¶¶¶¶

This is our second stay with Stephen and Diana. You couldn’t wish for a warmer welcome. The gîte is beautiful and the grounds and pool are wonderful. We will definitely be back again. What other holiday could you go on and come home with a selection of courgettes and a yummy recipe! Diana’s cakes are out of this world. Stephen will take you to a vineyard and drive you home again.
Stephen and Diana thank you again for a magical holiday xxx

H Marsh – Hampshire


¶¶¶¶¶

Fantastique accueil de la part de Diana et Stephen qui sont des hôtes aux petits soins. La maison a été rénovée récemment et offre une prestation digne de standards très élevés. Maison idéale à la fois pour des familles (en particulier nombreuses activités pour les enfants avec jeux et animaux de la ferme) ou pour des groupes d’amis comme ça a été le cas pour moi.

Adil – Paris


¶¶¶¶¶

An amazing holiday. An incredible place to stay. Stephen and Diana are the most wonderful hosts. We can’t wait to come back.

B Bull Hodson – Wales


¶¶¶¶¶

A little piece of quiet heaven tucked away in the Loire Valley, though within easy reach of a zoo, chateaux, towns, markets and much, much more….France at its best….but hard to tear yourself away from the beautiful setting and fabulous pool…Diana and Stephen are perfect hosts, who have created the most perfect holiday retreat. Everything is catered for on your arrival, right down to fresh eggs from their chickens. We’ve all come home feeling rested and happy…and looking forward to our return.

K Montlake – Wiltshire


¶¶¶¶¶

The best gîte ever

Superb accommodation and wonderful hosts. The rooms are excellent and facilities superb. Stephen and Diana cannot do enough for you. They also produced a fantastic meal for eight of us.

John Wadge – Dorset


¶¶¶¶¶

Wonderful

This was our second visit to La Vrilletterie, the first being at Easter in 2015. We were very much looking forward to enjoying the gîte and the surrounding areas during the summertime and were not disappointed. We had a wonderful holiday with great weather and our two children enjoyed the pool, the bikes and generally playing around the property. We had fresh vegetables from Stephen’s garden and were pleased to see Muffin again as well as the horses. We would recommend this property which was wonderful and thank Stephen and Diana for their hospitality and kindness.

Dave – Guernsey


¶¶¶¶¶

Another wonderful holiday

We have just returned from our second holiday to La Vrilletterie and we were not disappointed. This is the most beautiful accommodation set in a glorious rural location but within easy reach of some lovely towns, villages and chateaux – perfect to explore when you need a break from the stunning gardens and inviting pool. Stephen and Diana are the most wonderful hosts – on hand to provide tips for places to visit; provide courgettes, potatoes and salad for your evening meal – dug straight from the allotment; provide advice on how to provide the best pizza; or to provide the most amazing dining experience in their salon. We really can’t fault the whole La Vrilletterie experience and look forward to visiting again in the future. Thank you Stephen, Diana and of course Muffin, for making our 2nd holiday such a fantastic week.

Lindsay – Oxford


¶¶¶¶¶

Not gonna lie, I was a little scared sending off that sort of money to complete strangers but I didn’t need to worry as Stephen & Diana made sure everything went to plan. The gîte is beautiful, 4 gorgeous bedrooms all different in their decoration but large roomy and well presented. Towels a plenty including pool towels so don’t waste your luggage allowance and bring any. Each room has a well-appointed bathroom 3 with showers and one with a bath. Kitchen had everything we needed and much, much more and as for the lemon drizzle cake Diana left for us, well just mmmm! Outside areas were beautifully maintained, Stephen even left us a ladder to pick the lovely ripe cherries off the tree. Pool was a little chilly to start with but once the new heater was installed the temp increased to a lovely 28 degrees. Was fun feeding the horses and hens and also going out on a bike ride for first time in decades. Special place La Vrilletterie don’t delay if you’re thinking about booking, you won’t be disappointed.

J Johnson – Surrey


¶¶¶¶¶

I have just returned home from Steve and Diana’s hidden gem and cannot express how great this place is! Friendly, welcoming and a great sense of humour from the hosts. Plenty of space to relax, or lots of activities if you so please. Thank you for looking after us! Look forward to seeing you again.

D Rogerson – Holland


¶¶¶¶¶

Absolutely amazing, best relaxing break we have had in a long time!!!

I can’t rate Diana and Stephen Yates highly enough, they are such a lovely and accommodating couple that will bend over backwards to make your stay as peaceful and pleasant as possible. If you are looking for a romantic break in the heart of Loire Valley or a picturesque setting for your wedding day, get in touch asap as they get booked up very quickly. Highly recommend and we will definitely be coming back next summer!

N Bougourd – Guernsey


¶¶¶¶¶

Idyllic Loire Valley Escape

We have just had a wonderful week at the beautiful ‘La Vrilletterie’. It was the perfect, relaxing holiday and our hosts Diana and Stephen could not have been more friendly, accommodating and welcoming. It was a real home from home. Whilst Diana and Stephen were always at the end of the phone or somewhere close by, they were ‘invisible’ and we felt we had total privacy. The house and grounds were so beautiful and whilst we could have spent the whole week there relaxing by the heated pool or eating in the shade in the grounds, it was the perfect location to explore the Loire Valley from. There were lots of villages nearby offering great restaurants and wine, kayaking, walking, cycling, hot air ballooning and sightseeing. We even ventured to the local village on the bikes that were available for our use at the house. Plenty of tourist attractions within easy driving distance and castles galore! We particularly recommend Loches, Richelieu, Chinon and the beautiful Chenonceau. A visit to the restaurant in Luzé itself where Jerome and his wife will be the perfect hosts and you will get a delicious French meal.

We can’t thank Diana and Stephen enough for their hospitality and help during our stay. I would highly recommend La Vrilletterie to anyone.

J Nelson – Edinburgh


¶¶¶¶¶

Notre weekend à la Vrilleterie a été merveilleux. Diana et Stephen sont des hôtes particulièrement agréables et attentionnés. Le gîte est magnifique, les chambres sont immenses et remarquablement bien décorés, tout est pensé pour le confort des invités. Le domaine est splendide et particulièrement bien entretenu. Quel travail ! Sans compter les jouets mis à disposition pour les enfants qui se sont aussi beaucoup amusés avec les poules et les poneys!

Merci Diana et Stephen pour votre accueil, en espérant un jour connaître la recette secrète du délice au citron!

Sophie – La Garenne-Colombes, France


¶¶¶¶¶

Wonderful location, made more glorious by the hospitality and pure class of its most helpful owners. Car hire trouble was made much more bearable by the ‘nothing’s too much trouble’ attitude of our very helpful hosts, whom we would’ve been in dire straits without! Definitely worth every penny. Also, let Diana cook for you, that’s worth every penny too!

Brackbo – Merseyside


¶¶¶¶¶

Out of this world!

This is a beautiful property in a stunning and peaceful location. All of the rooms are spacious and well equipped and the and lounge have everything you need. The icing on the cake are the owners, Stephen and Diana, who go out of their way to ensure you are well looked after.

Our party of 10 arrived as clients and left as friends and we have already booked a return visit next year. You will have to go a long way to find somewhere better than this.

Keith C – Kent


¶¶¶¶¶

Highly recommended

We have just spent a few days at Stephen and Diana’s beautiful property. The accommodation was decorated, clean and well equipped. We were made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We took up their offer of dinner in their home on the day of our arrival which exceeded all of our expectations (we were a party of ten adults). We ate in their beautiful salon and the food was exceptional. We would definitely recommend a stay.

B and S Blair


¶¶¶¶¶

Exceeded our expectations

We had a warm welcome excellent food and a relaxing time at La Vrilletterie – Stephen and Diana made our stay very special. There were 10 of us in all (5 couples) who arrived on Ascension and stayed until the following Tuesday. We had asked for dinner on the Thursday evening after all of us had arrived – wow, what a feast it was, with excellent food prepared by Diana and served with local wine by Stephen.

The property itself is in excellent order with superb facilities – every detail has been well thought through and planned. We did explore the area over the coming days visiting Richelieu, Chinon and the beautiful Chenonceau. We enjoyed an excellent seafood restaurant that Diana and Stephen introduced us to located nearby.

Would recommend this gîte, our hosts and the local area without hesitation.

John W – Switzerland


¶¶¶¶¶

Outstanding

Have just returned from the most fantastic stay in the most beautiful gîte. Diana and Stephen have obviously poured their heart and soul into making their property a perfect escape for their guests! Everything from the beds to the kitchen equipment was of a very high standard. As hosts, they could not have been more attentive or approachable. We asked if Diana could provide dinner for us on two of our evenings there and were blown away with both meals!!! All home cooked and her lemon drizzle cake would put Paul Hollywood to shame!!! My husband and I returned completely relaxed and with our friends have already booked our trip there next spring. I cannot recommend this destination enough, both as an area of France with gorgeous castles to visit and beautiful little villages to sit and watch the world go by. Can’t wait for next spring.

Shauna & Richard – Kent


¶¶¶¶¶

Fantastic

A wonderful location and beautifully finished property. All the bedrooms have been tastefully decorated and furnished. A well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge. We were welcomed by Diana and Stephen who were the perfect hosts. We dined with them on two occasions and the evening meals far exceeded our expectations. Diana is certainly a very good cook! Transport was provided when we dined out in a local restaurant. A really wonderful holiday. We arrived as guests and left as friends. We are looking forward to our return visit next year. We would certainly recommend a visit.

P Bosley – Kent


¶¶¶¶¶

Heaven in the Loire Valley

This was our second stay at La Vrilletterie – hard to believe that Stephen & Diana could have made their beautiful gîte even more impressive…but they had clearly used the winter months to do just that. A fabulous covered patio area and herb garden were our favourite new arrivals. We visited with our new puppy who had the time of his little life. Nothing is too much trouble for Stephen & Diana including a great wine-tasting outing to an organic vineyard. As hosts they are there if you need them but respect the privacy of their guests completely. Once again we were so sad to leave but so delighted that we had already had the foresight last autumn to book again for this September….can’t wait!!!

Sammy C – Bedfordshire


¶¶¶¶¶

Perfect!!

Wonderful, peaceful, comfortable, beautifully maintained gîte. The owners went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. There is nothing that I could think of that would improve this accommodation. We were a party of 6 adults, but there would be plenty to entertain children as well. Chinon is well worth a visit.

Sue E – Leicestershire


¶¶¶¶¶

Séjour Merveilleux en famille, un hôte parfait ! une literie de grande qualité , merci beaucoup à Stephen

L Heron – Paris


¶¶¶¶¶

Idyllic

You can see from the pictures that this place is beautiful, but it doesn’t do justice to just how special it really is. I have just returned from a week here with my family and what an amazing stay we had. Stephen and Diana were the perfect hosts and they went above and beyond what I have ever experienced on similar holidays elsewhere. We had fresh salad and vegetables from their garden and Diana bakes the most incredible cakes. The place was immaculate and very well equipped. Although a stunning area with plenty to visit there wasn’t really any reason to leave! Thanks for everything and hope to see you again one day soon.

Francesca B


¶¶¶¶¶

Simply perfect

Well this has to go down as one of our best holidays – and we have collectively done some travelling! We were a party of 7, ranging in age from 22-57 and a Welsh Springer Barnaby! The accommodation was faultless – clean, spacious, beautifully furnished and we wanted for nothing. Our hosts, Stephen and Diana, couldn’t have been more obliging, from the deliciously light lemon drizzle cake that Diana prepared for our arrival, to the tour of the vineyard and the offer of a lift to Tours airport for 3 of our party by Stephen. The highlight of the week has to be the superb meal that Diana prepared to celebrate my husband’s birthday. A night to remember!

Barnaby, our spaniel, was in heaven roaming free in the fully secured gardens and he even won over the heart of the resident pooch, Muffin! The holiday at La Vrilletterie was such a success that we have already booked a return visit in 2016 so it really doesn’t get any better. Thank you Stephen and Diana for helping us to make such wonderful memories and we look forward to seeing you in 2016.

Adrian, Lindsay, Jeff, Karon, Tash, Frankie, Joe & Barnaby – Oxford


¶¶¶¶¶

A perfect haven

This is a fabulous property in an idyllic, tranquil location; away from it all yet only five minutes from a boulangerie and fifteen from a supermarket. Located in peaceful rolling farmland, La Vrilletterie is suitable for people of all ages. We were a party of six (ranging in age from 66 to 6) plus two dogs and we all, including the dogs, (the grounds are totally enclosed) had an excellent holiday. Diana and Stephen have paid wonderful attention to detail, everything necessary is provided and generously so. Consumables, such as coffee tea, sugar, loo rolls etc. were in abundance and we were greeted with delicious cakes, milk in the fridge and an invitation to help ourselves from the ‘salad bar’ to fresh vegetables and herbs. The property is spotless and spacious, the furnishings are very comfortable (especially the beds) and the bed linen and towels are of excellent quality. We made great use of a well-designed barbecue and ate al fresco from morning to night. The games room was great fun (darts and table tennis) and the kids especially enjoyed the pool and feeding the hens.

Stephen and Diana were extremely helpful when we needed something and gave us complete space when we didn’t. As an added bonus, Muffin their dog, is something of Lionel Messi when it comes to playing with a football! We would highly recommend this property.

Pete C – Worcester


¶¶¶¶¶

Fantastic holiday

We had a wonderful time at La Vrilletterie. The facilities are to the absolute highest standard. The property is unbelievably peaceful and set in glorious countryside with great walking. Stephen and Diana are lovely people, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They coped admirably with 8 adults and 2 German Shepherds. Would love to go back.

Falcofan – Cheshire


¶¶¶¶¶

Beautiful gîte with lovely hosts!

We stayed at the gite as a family of 6 adults for my Mum’s 60th birthday. After a long day of travel we arrived at around 7pm, and were immediately greeted warmly by Steven & Diane. Steven wasted no time in kindly offering us a lift to the local supermarket to grab some essentials for that evening. We took him up on the offer and he showed us around the shop, taking us to what we needed without us having us hunt around.

That level of generosity continued throughout the week.

On my Mum’s birthday we had an amazing meal cooked by Diane in their salon – we highly recommend you do the same! Diane is a fantastic cook and the setting was beautiful. My Mum was chuffed.

The gîte is very well-equipped, in a beautiful setting with lots to see and do in the surrounding area. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Sarah I – Berkshire


¶¶¶¶¶

Amazing!

Sat on our last night at La Vrilletterie. What can we say, we have had an amazing holiday. The location is ideal, it is so peaceful and quiet. There is plenty to do for the more adventurous. But equally you can just enjoy the gîte and the space it offers. Stephen and Diana the hosts will ensure you have all you need and go above and beyond with all they do. You must book this Gîte!

Sam W


¶¶¶¶¶

La Vrilletterie comes highly recommended

We’ve just returned from our third visit to La Vrilletterie, having previously stayed in the autumn of 2014 and 2015. On this occasion we were a party of six, consisting of three teenagers, Mum, Dad and Granny. La Vrilletterie just gets better and better each time we visit. This year the Pizza Oven was new, and a great hit with old and new alike. This was our first visit in springtime and we were blessed with sunny skies each day. We explored Château du Rivau at Coudray and Château de Chinon, which is actually a huge castle located on the bank of the Vienne River in Chinon. We also visited the street market in Loches, which is a traditional French market in the region. Other excursions included a Wine Tasting visit to the vineyards and wine cellars of Eric Hérault in Panzoult and an excellent evening meal at a restaurant in Richelieu, both of which were arranged and recommended by our wonderful hosts, Stephen and Diana.

La Vrilletterie is a simply stunning property, finished inside and out to a very high standard. A log burner in the Salon will keep you warm while watching TV in the evening and the luxurious bedding in the rooms upstairs will keep you snug at night. We arranged to have dinner with Stephen and Diana on our last night and were treated to a wonderful 3-course meal, complete with local wine & cheese, all of which was superbly cooked and presented. A brilliant end to a wonderful week. Absolutely everything about La Vrilletterie comes highly recommend!

A Walker – Oxford


¶¶¶¶¶

Best of the best!

Stephen and Diana made us feel welcomed during our stay in Luzé near Chinon and Richelieu. Their house is very cozy with big, clean and furnished bedrooms and bathrooms. Located in a very peaceful countryside, it’s ideal for families and kids.

David – Paris


¶¶¶¶¶

Stephen and Diana were amazing hosts and we were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. From letting our kids feed the chickens and help collect eggs to taking us to a local wine farm, to booking us a table at a restaurant at the next village (not speaking French, Stephen even offered to come along and translate the menu for us!). Highly recommend trying some of Diana’s homemade chutneys. La Vrilletterie was a lot bigger than what we expected and very well kitted out. The house is very well maintained and beats a hotel stay hands down. The grounds are immaculate (Stephen and Diana are constantly busy keeping things tip top) and the games room kept our family busy, when not roaming the country side. The house is in a very beautiful part of the country with a number of small villages within a short driving (or cycling if you are up for it – good selection of bikes available). We were given a list of local food markets and these were amazing to browse and stock up for meals. The food market in Chinon was particularly great. I would highly recommend staying at La Vrilletterie, and we will certainly be making a visit again in the not too distant future.

David – South Africa


¶¶¶¶¶

Absolutely Fantastic

We have just returned from a week’s stay at La Vrilletterie and have to say it is the best accommodation we have stayed in. We were a group of 6 including 2 young children and the wonderful hosts Stephen and Diana greeted us on arrival and were on hand whenever we needed anything.

The accommodation is extremely well equipped with lovely large bedrooms, stunning en-suites and indoor and outdoor eating and cooking facilities as well as a lounge and games room. Outside was a heated pool which we used everyday day and endless entertainment for the kids with ride on electric cars, muffin the dog as well 2 miniature horses. We were treated to Diana’s lemon drizzle cake on arrival as well as some essentials in the fridge including wine and beers and had Diana cook us a fabulous meal on one of the evenings.

The gîte is perfectly situated to be able to explore the numerous local Chateaux’s and vineyards and with a Bakery within 10 minutes and supermarkets within 15 minutes we couldn’t of asked for anything else.

Hopefully it won’t be too long before we can return again.

S Howard – Crookham Village


¶¶¶¶¶

Fabulously relaxing and welcoming

We stayed here as 3 couples and three children and it was perfect. The gîte worked perfectly for us and Stephen and Diana couldn’t have been more welcoming in sharing everything the gîte and grounds had to offer. The pool was amazing and saw some serious use! There was plenty to keep the kids happy with toys and games plus being in and out of the pool!! They couldn’t have wanted for more.

Cooking and eating outside was gorgeous at the end of the day.

In short the gîte was brilliantly appointed and really comfortable and I’d thoroughly recommend.

Gupster – Torquay